Ep.26> Cozy Dog, Route 66

Cosy Dog Drive In, Route 66 > Springfield IL

mmm The Corn Dog

I’ve had corn dogs before. I even remember when you could get them frozen in English supermarkets and my Mum would get them me every week. I loved them. Then they disappeared. I knew they were an American food and last year on the road trip with Annabelle we found a fantastic diner in the middle of nowhere in New Mexico. It was run by a guy from Chicago and he boasted his corn dog to be the best outside of Illinois. So naturally I asked why. He proceeded to tell me that the corn dog was invented there and even told me where but I didn’t take in the name.

That name was THE COZY DOG! The inventors of the corn dog! An All-American Super-Famous Snack! Officially launch by Ed Waldmire in 1946.

I took a visit to The Cozy Dog Drive-In and found an amazing diner packed full of Route 66 and Cozy Dog memorabilia and heritage. It was fantastic to see this piece of American history still in operation.

In my opinion and many many others The Cozy Dog is THE corn dog. Once you’ve had a cosy dog all other corn dogs are nothing. It was that good. And usually corn dogs feel quite unhealthy to eat and you feel like you’re doing wrong! But the cosy dog tasted and felt so much healthier that I could literally sit in cosy dog all day throwing dogs down my neck.

I am going to have to stop typing now. I am getting hungry!

Matthew

(All photographs taken by Matthew Comer unless otherwise stated. Portraits of Matthew courtesy of Leah Mitchell. Music courtesy of Me Vs Hero)

Next post >
Ep.27> Doc’s Soda Fountain, Deck’s Drug Store

Previous Posts >
Ep.1> Day 1> Welcome to Chicago / Mercadito
Ep.2> Day 1> The Second City
Ep.3> Day 2> Breakfast at Ina’s
Ep.4> Day 2> The T-Shirt Deli
Ep.5> Day 2> Manchester United are in Chicago
Ep.6> Day 2> Transformers 3
Ep.7> Day 2> Cloud Gate aka The Bean

Ep.8> Day 2> The Crown Fountain
Ep.9> Day 2> The John Hancock Observatory! with Lavazza
Ep.10> Day 2> Shoreline Sightseeing Skyline Lake Tour
Ep.11> Day 2> Navy Pier
Ep.12> Day 2>
Hard Rock Café
Ep.13> Day 2> The Blackstone Renaissance
Ep.14> Day 3> Lou Mitchell’s Diner
Ep.15> Day 3> My Ride > Thanks Chevrolet
Ep.16> Day 3> Joliet Area Historical Museum + Joliet Correctional Center
Ep.17> Day 3> The Launching Pad, Wilmington IL
Ep.18> Day 3> The Gemini Giant, Wilmington IL
Ep.19> Day 3> My Arrival In Pontiac IL
Ep.20> Day 3> Delongs Casual Dining, Pontiac IL
Ep.21> Day 3>
Road Trip Supplies on Route 66
Ep.22> Day 3> On The Road
Ep.23> Day 3> ABC News Interview
Ep.24> Day 3> Route 66 Drive-In Theatre
Ep.25> Day 4> Bill Shea’s Gas Station

2 responses to this post.

  1. Matthew,

    Thank you for the kind words. We really enjoyed having you stop by Cozy Dog Drive In during your visit to the United States. Beautiful photographs! I am curious why you spell Cozy Dogs with an “s”? I hope you enjoyed all of your stops along Route 66!

    Sincerely,

    Sue

    Reply

    • Hi Sue I have no idea why I did that. I have a feeling it was my UK spell checker haha. sorted now though.

      Keep your eyes peeled for the night time shots coming up

      regards

      Mat

      Reply

Leave a Reply

