Ep.27> Doc’s Soda Fountain, Deck’s Drug Store

Doc’s Soda Fountain, Deck’s Drug Store > Girard IL

This was a nice surprise. I expected to visit this place and have one of their famous Soda Fountain Ice-Creams, which I did, And I must say it was fantastic. I could quite easily get addicted to those things but that wasn’t all. Inside this little diner was Deck’s Drug Store. A drug store from 1884 which is now a museum and has been passed down for three generations of the Decks family. The Deck Brothers (Bill & Bob) were there to show me around and after I awhile I grew quite close to them. Bill gave me a few very rare souvenirs including a wooden nickel and some old labels from their medicine bottles which I loved. He joked ‘we are out of arsenic’ 😀

Next door they have what I can only describe as a very good thrift store where I got a few bargains!

As a thank you I gave Bill a quick spin in the Corvette around the corner and back. Take a look at the video!

Matthew

(All photographs taken by Matthew Comer unless otherwise stated. Portraits of Matthew courtesy of Leah Mitchell. Music courtesy of Me Vs Hero)

Next post >
Ep.28> Weezy’s, Route 66

Previous Posts >
Ep.1> Day 1> Welcome to Chicago / Mercadito
Ep.2> Day 1> The Second City
Ep.3> Day 2> Breakfast at Ina’s
Ep.4> Day 2> The T-Shirt Deli
Ep.5> Day 2> Manchester United are in Chicago
Ep.6> Day 2> Transformers 3
Ep.7> Day 2> Cloud Gate aka The Bean

Ep.8> Day 2> The Crown Fountain
Ep.9> Day 2> The John Hancock Observatory! with Lavazza
Ep.10> Day 2> Shoreline Sightseeing Skyline Lake Tour
Ep.11> Day 2> Navy Pier
Ep.12> Day 2>
Hard Rock Café
Ep.13> Day 2> The Blackstone Renaissance
Ep.14> Day 3> Lou Mitchell’s Diner
Ep.15> Day 3> My Ride > Thanks Chevrolet
Ep.16> Day 3> Joliet Area Historical Museum + Joliet Correctional Center
Ep.17> Day 3> The Launching Pad, Wilmington IL
Ep.18> Day 3> The Gemini Giant, Wilmington IL
Ep.19> Day 3> My Arrival In Pontiac IL
Ep.20> Day 3> Delongs Casual Dining, Pontiac IL
Ep.21> Day 3>
Road Trip Supplies on Route 66
Ep.22> Day 3> On The Road
Ep.23> Day 3> ABC News Interview
Ep.24> Day 3> Route 66 Drive-In Theatre
Ep.25> Day 4> Bill Shea’s Gas Station
Ep.26> Day 4> Cosy Dog Drive In, Route 66

Leave a Reply

